Monday, November 28, 2011

Mu Phi

On Sunday afternoon in the Crocker Art Museum our Mu Phi Epsilon International Competition winner, pianist Yukiko Sekino, gave a recital. Her program, limited by the Crocker to 1 hour, was spectacular.

Piano Sonata, Op. 1, by Alban Berg.

Variations on "Salve tu, Domine" in F major, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

Andante Spianato et Grande Polonaise brillante, in E-flat major, Op. 22, by Frédéric Chopin.

Etude No. 53:  Cell Division and Etude No. 30:  A Gliss is Just a Gliss, by David Rakowski, 2 pieces from the 21st century.

Dante Sonata (this is the short name), by Franz Liszt.

It starts slowly with the cerebral Berg, moves to the lyrical Mozart, and then bursts into flame in the Chopin polonaise.  And if that isn't enough flash for you, we have a small modern piece with lots of glissandi up and down the keyboard.  And if that still isn't enough flash for you, we end with one of Liszt's more outrageous and dynamic pieces.  Everything was played brilliantly.

The museum asked for a piece by someone Italian to go with the current exhibition of paintings from Florence.  We will assume the Dante Sonata will serve.  There isn't that much Italian piano repertoire.

We are very pleased with our prize winner.

No comments: